BB. PILIPINAS 2013: AT THE HOMESTRETCH (PART 3)

CANDIDATE NO. 21- Lourenz Grace Remetillo.  She actually had prior international pageant experience as she was the 2011 representative (our first ever) to Miss Supranational.  Though her exotic features may have its appeal, I was not that surprised that she failed to make the final cut in that pageant.  I feel the same outcome will happen in this national pageant.  U – 6.5; I – 5; T – 5.5; S – N/A.

CANDIDATE NO. 22 – Ellore Noelle Punzalan.  If the year was 1977, she may have been a front-runner for one of the titles as she has a resemblance to Bb. Pilipinas International 1977 Pinky Alberto.  But since this is 2013, she is regarded as an also-ran, someone who could be deemed attractive in real-world standards but falls short in pageant standards.  But I have to note she does have a very vibrant personality that I like.  U – 6; I – 5.5; T – 6; S – 6

Bb. Pilipinas 1977 Pinky Alberto

CANDIDATE NO. 23 – Leona Paula Santicruz.  She is obviously not as polished as other competitors out there, but she is attractive with a sweet, down-to-earth personality, and a resemblance to American Idol Season 12 finalist Angie Miller.  I don’t really have high expectations of her, but she’s a worthwhile contender.  U – 6.5; I – 6.5; T – 6.5; S – 6.5

American Idol Season 12 finalist Angie Miller (image courtesy of Fox)

CANDIDATE NO. 24 – Marita Cassandra Naidas.  Just like Hannah and Bea, Cassie exudes a cosmopolitan vibe though her video profile reveals a shy, humble girl.  She is on track in garnering a semifinal slot for this pageant.  U – 7.5; I – 7; T – 7.5; S – 7.5

CANDIDATE NO. 25 – Merry Joyce Respicio.  Besides her statuesque 5’11” height, she also possesses the dusky, native features of Miss Earth – Air 2006 (and now director of the Miss Earth Foundation) Cathy Untalan.  But unlike Cathy, Merry does not have the academic pedigree or the communication skills (in fact based on her video profile the only thing she can think of as her main asset is her height).  A little more polish and she should be able to make the most of her frame and exotic features.  U – 8; l – 6.5; T – 7; S – 7.5

Miss Earth Air 2006 Cathy Untalan (image courtesy of Arnold Orosa for Mabuhay Beauties)

CANDIDATE NO. 26 – Anna Fernandina Buquid.  I know a lot of people buzzed about this lady’s 5’11 3/4″ frame (she’s the tallest in this year’s batch).  I know a dear friend may vehemently disagree with me here, but her features remind me of a less aristocratic, less polished version of Miss World 2011 1st runner-up Gwendoline Ruais (who happened to compete in this pageant in 2010 and landed as a semifinalist–though most pundits like myself thought she should’ve garnered one of the titles, but then again, she eventually did with a different franchise holder and the rest is history).  I have a feeling this lady might share the same fate as Gwen in this pageant–a semifinalist finish and no further.  U – 8; I – 7; T – 7.5; S – 7.5.

Gwendoline Ruais at Bb. Pilipinas 2010 (she eventually became Miss World 2011 1st runner-up).

CANDIDATE NO. 27 – Vania Valiry Vispo.  Val is like a statuesque version of Miss Universe 1st runner-up Miriam Quiambao with her 5’11” frame.  So far she doesn’t seem to be polished nor radiating Miriam’s charisma, but she is generating some rising buzz that she could be a possible crown usurper.  With extra polish, she has the potential to actually shine in the international arena.  U – 8.5; I – 8; T – 8.5; S – 8.5

Miss Universe 1999 1st runner-up Miriam Quiambao (image courtesy of Miss Universe LP, LLLP)

CANDIDATE NO. 28 – Mercegrace Raquel.  In her video profile she mentioned about how her handlers wanted to whiten her skin in the earlier local pageants she competed in, which worked for a while but her conscience gnawed at her and with inspiration from Miss Universe 2010 4th runner-up Venus Raj she decided to keep her complexion natural henceforth.  I applaud her principles and her dusky features do work well that she is on track to garnering a semifinals spot at the very least.  U – 8.5; I – 8; T – 8.5; S – 8.5

CANDIDATE NO. 29 – Pauline Quintas.  I don’t understand the look she had in the National Costume competition, that for some reason she looked fat, but in most other photos she seemed to be in good shape?  I regard her as a worthwhile contender.  U – 7; I – 7; T – 7; S – 7.

CANDIDATE NO. 30 – Maria Theresa Gorgonio.  This Cebuana lass has excellent English speaking skills and is one of the best communicators in this group, with a matter-of-fact vibe as reflected in her video profile during the primer.  In my reckoning, she is part of the “Cosmopolitan Ladies Club” populated by Hannah, Bea, and Cassie.  Her facial features are not actually my cup of tea, but they are striking enough that I think she could make inroads if she chooses to become a fashion model.  I thought she looked particularly fierce clad in that silver number (with matching head piece) during the National Costume competition and thought that could be a winner.  Though looks wise I may not be that into her, I think I should keep an eye on her if she lands in the Top 15.  U – 7.5; I – 6.5; T – 7; S – 7.

All images courtesy of Raymond Saldana and Owen Reyes for Bb. Pilipinas, and Jory Rivera for OPMB Worldwide unless otherwise indicated.

COMING UP:  CANDIDATES 31-40

Leave a Reply

