MISS INTERNATIONAL 2015: DELEGATES REVIEW (PART 2)

There are certain delegates who most pageant fans and pundits would regard as cellar-dwellers, but turned out to be pleasant surprises.  They may not be in contention for the Top Ten, but had delivered creditable performances.

GUADELOUPE – Juliette Alimanda.  Many pageant fans and pundits thought her features may be too exotic for Japanese tastes, but one must give her credit for her trim figure and solid stage chops.

GUD I

GUAM – Loriann Rabe.  Her key strategy to make an impact?  Bare as much skin as possible while remaining “family-friendly”.  This is exhibited by her coconuts-for-bra costume, her string bikini during the swimsuit round, and finally in the gown round where she sported a blue long-sleeved gown with a plunging neckline.  To her credit, she presented herself in a way that isn’t vulgar that she got away with it.

GUM I

NICARAGUA – Yaoska Ruiz.  Her face is one of the plainest in this year’s competition, but her buffed figure and polished stage chops could not be denied.

NCA I

NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS – Jian Joyner.  Like Miss Belgium her normal appearance was with frizzy hair, but she tamed it for the finals.  She also has an edge over Miss Belgium with a trimmer figure and more polished stage chops.

NMA I

There are two ladies who didn’t receive much buzz–they are generally very solid performers, but neither were they ever in serious contention to make the final cut. Both are reasonably attractive, have trim-enough figures, and are solid onstage, but clearly they are overshadowed by more sterling and stronger contenders out there.  They are…

BOLIVIA – Alejandra Panozo.  See paragraph above…

BOL I

HAITI – Marie Vyannie Manard.  See paragraph above…

HAI I

There are a whole host of delegates who were highly regarded by pageant fans and pundits but when it came to the main pageant finals, just fell short for one reason or another.

BELARUS – Alena Savchuk.  She is a great looking lady, but there is something about the vibe she projected during the finals that seem rather bimbo-ish, that is why I felt she’s a let-down.  Her busy burgandy-and-black satin evening gown didn’t help bolster her cause.

BLR I

COSTA RICA – Melania Gonzalez.  Prior to the finals this experienced pageant veteran seemed like a worthwhile sleeper possibility, but she was dragged down by her tacky gold evening gown.

CRC I

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC – Irina Peguero.  Did Missosology forgot to upload her finals swimsuit photo?  I think the key reason was her swimsuit presentation featured a twirl, which would work if it weren’t for the fact that it doesn’t match the background music (or muzak like in this case).  She should’ve kept it simple as she has a good figure.  Her gown presentation was the key letdown–not only was it a store-bought blue-green satin frock, but her catwalk was rather awkward as she had to lift her skirt as she navigated the stairs..

12191687_1200945523255043_6579687794456408633_n

FRANCE – Charlotte Pirroni.  She undeniably has a gorgeous face.  But unlike her predecessor, who won “Miss Perfect Body” in this pageant last year, her figure turned out to be disappointingly sub-par.  Her evening gown was also rather ordinary and not haute couture, hence she was out of the running.

FRA I

GIBRALTAR – Bianca Pisharello.  I love her face, and was rooting for her to become a sleeper hit.  But her figure was a bit too voluptuous for this pageant (and the Japanese do prefer the trim and slender types), and with that there was no way for her to make inroads like Jamielee Randall two years ago.

GIB I

MALAYSIA – Immaculate Lojuki.  She is not conventionally pretty, but there was a vibe she projected in photos prior to the pageant finals that I like.  In fact, I see a passing resemblance to former MTV Asia VJ and Miss World presenter Angela Chow.  But during the finals, she didn’t have any kind of spark, that I briefly considered relegating her to the first tier.  But I stil felt she had enough merits that I decided to put her in this list instead.

MAS I

Angela Chow (image sourced from Zimbio.com)

NETHERLANDS – Rachel Van Den Meulen.  Many pageant fans and pundits felt she could be a Top Ten contender, but in my opinion during finals night, she projected a bit too pageant patty and her off-the-rack orange satin evening gown simply lacks oomph and has no “wow factor”.   Interesting note:  is her costume and evening gown one and the same outfit?

NED 1

RUSSIA – Valeria Kufterina.  She was a co-winne of the “Miss Global Blue” sponsor’s special award prior to the finals.  I also thought she looked in contention of making the final cut at that time.  But during the finals, I was let down–sure, toned-down makeup is usually better, but somehow this made her looked plain and washed out.  He face was also distractingly too shiny for comfort.  One of my biggest disappointments in this list.

RUS I

SLOVAKIA – Barbora Bakošová.  Many pageant fans and pundits list her as a sleeper possibility but as solid as she generally was during finals night, she simply lacked spark, hence I put her in this list.

SVK I

ZAMBIA – Brandina Lubuli.  Several pageant fans and pundits rated her as the “African-most-likely” but I knew most attention went to her more striking, vibrant, shaven-headed counterpart.  I was at least expecting a worthwhile performance from her, but I discovered she’s the front-runner for this pageant’s “Flapper Award” and her narrow hips just didn’t help mattes.  Her gown presentation likewise did not generate much impact, hence in my reckoning she belongs in this list.

ZAM I

All images courtesy of Stephen Diaz for Missosology unless otherwise indicated.

COMING UP:  WORTHY PERFORMERS

Leave a Reply

